Zucchinis…. Zucchinis… Zucchinis… My bittersweet nightmare!

zucchini plant 

Every year, I make the same mistake. I really only need two zucchini plants to feed my household, share some with my neighbours, and delight in the delicacy of stuffed zucchini flowers… Alas, I was lazy this year; I purchased a punnet of seedlings (instead of propagating from seed) which had 5 very healthy looking plants in it.  I couldn’t find anyone to share them with, couldn’t bring myself to throw them out, and so planted the lot… What was I thinking?!?

I also try very hard to maintain my zero produce waste policy in my garden, and so now am overwhelmed with what I have diagnosed as zucchini induced anxiety. I think most backyard gardeners will know where I am coming from!

There is no cure, symptoms will persist until zucchini production slows (probably late march?). 

So far, my strategies for allaying symptoms have been:

  • First and foremost, trying to get out to the garden every day to harvest them, one missed day could mean a huge zucchini, and double the quantity to use= double the anxiety!
  • Zucchini slice (of course), I think I’m up to batch #5
  • Grilled zucchini with melted cheese (a match made in heaven)
  • Steamed zucchini with everything
  • Zucchini and haloumi fritters
  • Zucchini flowers stuffed with goats cheese and anything else
  • Pan fried garlicky, buttery zucchini goodness
  • Chocolate zucchini cake (using the ‘spice’ cocoa and honey)
  • Zucchini pasta
  • Bringing zucchini into the office for colleagues to take home
  • Visiting neighbours (although, they are more often than not trying to give them away as well…)

 What do you do with excess zucchini?  Posting any ideas you have as a comment would be really, really great – I’m desperate! There is only so much zucchini slice one little tassievore can eat…!!

zucchini flowers choc zucchini cake

5 thoughts on “Zucchinis…. Zucchinis… Zucchinis… My bittersweet nightmare!

  1. Hello from the other side of the world! We have the same problem year after year, too. It’s a wonderful problem to have, though!Have you tried zucchini bread? How about zucchini oven fries? Stuffed zucchini? These are some of my favorite recipes for using up zucchini:
    http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/appetizers-and-snacks/zucchini-oven-fries/
    http://steamykitchen.com/11751-stuffed-zucchini-boats-recipe.html
    http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2006/03/zucchini-stuffed-with-pinenuts-and.html
    Good luck! It looks like a great project you guys have started!

    • It is a wonderful problem to have isn’t it! and i love the way it forces you to be creative! My partner loves fries, so i’m going to give them a go and see if i can get him hooked on zucchini fries. I reckon a way we could make them 100% tasmanian would be to swap the pecans for walnuts, and the cornmeal for semolina (available from Callington Mill).
      And Zucchini bread sounds great, definitely going to give that a go too.
      Thanks for your interest in Tassievore! its a very exciting challenge, and is made so easy by all the great local produce we have at our fingertips in Tassie!

  2. pickled sliced zucchini using Sally Wises recipe….Tastes delish and uses heaps of zuccs, even non zucchini eaters will devour this. I leave out the onion and capsicum that way I can pack more zuccs into a jar.
    http://www.abc.net.au/tasmania/stories/s1313383.htm

    Zucc slices on the bbq….combine with beans to get rid of bean anxiety
    Dehydrated zucchini slices not my favourite food but the dogs love them so I use them as training treats.

    • Sally’s pickles zucc’s was one of the things that i’ve been meaning to try, but i definitely will now! thanks for the push.
      Dehydrated zucchini dog treats! thats an interesting concept, will give it a go!!!

  3. Tikvenik with Chesnov Sauce! One of my favourite Bulgarian veggie foods! Basically just chop a few cloves of garlic and let it infuse in some plain yogurt. Then saute thinly sliced zucchini in olive oil, til lightly browned, season with salt and pepper and top with garlicy yogurt….yummm!

Leave a Reply

