A week in the life of a Tassievore – Part 2

Part II of A week in the life of a Southern Tassievore

More than two months have passed since the commencement of the Tassievore Challenge –filled with eating, sharing, sourcing and growing delicious foods and drinks and lots of fun in the process. It hasn’t even been hard work! But don’t just take my word for it, check out how the State-wide Tassievores have got to say as we celebrate the first two months of the Challenge – and let us know how you are finding the Challenge, and any changes (positive or negative) that have been made to your lifestyle since commencing.

Caitlin:

My week as a Tassievore starts on Sunday mornings with an early trip to the Farm Gate Market to get my fruit, veggies and assorted other goodies. Typically Sunday afternoon involves preparing and freezing some meals for the week. I also do a cooking experiment each Sunday – gnocchi, pizza dough and flatbread have been my greatest successes, though there have been a couple of spectacular failures along the way including mozzarella that refused to curdle!

I work full-time and I’m often busy on weeknights, so dinner is often a quick stir-fry, omelette or a salad packed with local goodies. Friday and Saturday evenings are my chance to try my hand at something more creative, and to relax with a glass of wine and some gorgeous Tasmanian cheese.

Link for Naan bread: https://taseatlocal.wordpress.com/2012/11/15/the-challenge-begins-what-fun/

IMG_1912 IMG_2374 IMG_2167

Andrew

Two months on and going strong!  My eating has diversified somewhat as I learn to adapt to ‘shopping in the garden’.  Some crops seem to have a ‘eat now or I’ll wilt/ go bitter/ dry out/ get mushy/ turn brown’ requirement that I truly didn’t expect, which is annoying mid-week when I am not at home to pick and enjoy (p.s my bush and runner beans are cranking out the goods!!).

I have to admit I get a lot of support from friends – foodies who love a challenge and are up for hunting pipi’s in the sand at low tide, or those considerate to go the extra mile and source a Tassie alternative to a common staple so I can eat with them (my challenge isn’t rigidly eating only Tasmanian food, but I’m not about to tell them that!!).  I love the knock-on benefit of being a Tassievore in that my friends are thinking about the food system as well.  Yes, I occasionally annoy wait-staff by asking them what on the menu is Tasmanian (the more people who ask, the more they take notice), but most of the time it’s a chance to have a bit of fun and plan elaborate meals with my mates.

I hope your Tassievore challenge is going well and I hope we give you inspiration and help you when you need it – eating locally has so many short-mid-long term benefits, it is a worthy cause we can all champion.

IMG_1817  home grown goodiesIMG_1553

Sarah:

My week as a Tassievore is a nice mix of visiting my local shops (snug butcher and Merediths, we are pretty lucky down the channel!), Farm Gate market if I’m in the area, and seeing what I can get from the garden. At the moment, this is consisting of zucchini, cucumbers, chard, green and butter beans, beetroot, leafy greens, potatoes, garlic, herbs, apricots, strawberries and raspberries.

If I haven’t had time to get in to the farmers market, I usually make myself a loaf of bread for the week, make some yoghurt, and I’m pretty much set for the rest of it.

I decided to go a bit hardcore and give up tea and coffee for the duration of the challenge, so I was super excited to discover that I can order a hot milk and honey in most cafés around town (an adult bubbacino, as one waitress so aptly put it! so I can now ‘do coffee’ which is a total treat!)

I’m loving the last minute meals that are made by scouring the fridge and garden and coming up with some delicious creation that I wouldn’t have found unless I was Tassievoring!

So far one of my favourite (and really easy) meals has been Roast chicken with apricot quinoa stuffing, served with pink eyes, garlic beans and zucchini, and my last golden nugget from last summer.

IMG_2160 IMG_2178IMG_2360

Lissa

 A day in the life of this Tassievore generally looks something like this:  wake up, go out and feed chooks, pick a few bits and pieces from the garden on the way back inside (peas, mint, greens, broccoli and berries yesterday).  Feed my sourdough.  Make breaky….my springtime favourite is Tassie Muesli (Oats, linseeds, walnuts, hazelnuts, honey, dried cherry/apple/apricot) with yogurt and fresh berries and stonefruit.

Next comes my last minute throwing of things into my backpack for lunch as I head out the door, nearly forgetting.  Sourdough bread, cheese, veggies and dips feature heavily on my lunchtime menu.  I try to make sure that I have a dip/spread or two in the fridge for these last minute meals – Artichoke pesto, Aioli, Beetroot & Yogurt, Broad Bean Homous, Spiced Carrot, etc. I often make honey bickies or a muesli slice or something to take to work as a sweet snack. I am sure that I am saving money by not impulsively buying lunch and snacks in town, though I do need to be more organised than I did before starting the Tassievore Eat Local Challenge.

I love cooking, so dinner is often a more elaborate affair, which revolves around whatever veggies are bursting from the garden or lingering in the fridge needing to be used. Last night was lemony pea & mint pasta with haloumi (photo attached). Tonight I am planning to do a trial run of some of the pizzas that we will feature at our Tassievore Pizza Party at Source Community Wholefoods on Wednesday (the very first of our Tassievore events – see events page for full listing).  Roasted pumpkin, kale pesto, carmelised onion and goat chevre is the one I’m most looking forward to.  Overall, I have found being a Tassievore quite easy, extremely delicious and it has made me more appreciative of the abundance that we have in Tasmania!

IMG_1734 IMG_1629 IMG_1599

Pen

The week is pretty busy for the Clark household on Tassievore challenge. As with other urban Tassievores the most useful shopping trip is to the local Farmers market. We stock up on a big bucket of milk and fruit and veg, and then spend extra money on eggs and Tassievore treats such as cheese and the odd bit of wallaby. We are also growing some of our own veg (greens, beans, zucchini, tomatoes) and are part of a vege co-op which allows us to top up our larder mid week.
The challenge has been great so far, and we certainly haven’t felt deprived, but we do have to commit at least one night to making pasta, bread, muesli and yoghurt. All pretty lo-fi and simple, but they do require you to be around. I have to confess that I watch TV on my iPad while I roll the pasta – it makes the chore much more attractive! Homemade pasta is the only thing we weren’t doing before the challenge and is certainly something I will continue with, but perhaps not every time we want to eat pasta.
Another funny side effect of doing the challenge is watching my son’s vocab expand in odd directions. Apparently the third little piggy had “roast beef with quinoa on it”!!

 IMG_2772 IMG_2880 IMG_2932

Leave a Reply

