The Challenge Begins….what fun!!

So, we launched the Tassievore Eat Local Challenge at the Sustainable Living Festival last weekend.  As the Festival Director, I was completely buggered afterward and the first meal or two are a bit of a blur…I think toasted cheese and eggs featured prominently.  But, then I got to have a couple of days off…recovery!  This gave me time to cook up a Tassievore storm…Roasted beet, carmelised onion, kate, lemon zest, fetta and walnut pizza; artichoke pesto; muesli;  garlic aioli; honey oat bickies and “ranch” dressing were among my first Tassievore makings.  I was keen to make a few things that can just sit in the fridge and be used to liven up bread, cheese and eggs, which I think may be my new staples as a vegetarian Tassievore.  Excitingly the Artichoke Pesto I could virtually make from my garden. I’ll try to remember to include the recipe below as well as the Honey Oat Bickies…as a sugar addict, sweet treats will be my biggest challenge, I reckon.  BUT my most exciting Tassievore meal, which I really want to share is…..

Tandoori Cauliflower and Mint Chutney with Naan Bread

I’m a bit of a luddite, and with my job being pretty computer based, I tend to not be very online savvy.  I have however been introduced to the My New Roots Blog, by my friend, Sophie.  It is great and definately good for those wanting to eat healthy, seasonal food. Sarah, who writes the blog, is a nutritionist and gives heaps of interesting info about the nutritional benefits of various foods and I have found many an inspiration on this site. The tandoori cauliflower peaked my interest some time ago, but it wasnt’ until last night that I finally tried it out.  The only questionable ingredient is the fresh ginger that I used in the marinade, but surely that is a spice/flavouring…which I am allowing myself!

I am feeling a bit over typing, so will just put in the link to the recipe here…yummm! Happy cooking and eating, Lissa

Naan Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 ¼ tsp active dry yeast
  • ¾ cup plain yogurt
  • ¼ cup butter
  • 1 ½ tsp salt
  • 1 ¼ cup wholemeal flour
  • 3 cups sifted flour

Method:

  1. Activate yeast with ¼ cup warm water..leave 10 mins until foamy
  2. Combine ¾ cup hot water, yogurt, butter and salt in bowl, then stir in the yeast and flour ( a bit at a time) until you can turn it out and knead the dough
  3. Knead until smooth, but still slightly tacky.9
  4. Put dough into oiled bowl, cover with tea towel and leave until double in bulk about 1 hour)
  5. Divide into 8-10 balls and let rest 10 minutes
  6. Flatten balls to 12cm thick (rolling pin or hands)
  7. Bake on heated stone or tray @ 210 degrees for 12-15minutes

Honey Oat Bickies

Ingredients:

  • 150g butter
  • 150g honey
  • 1/2c wholemeal flour
  • 1/2tsp baking powder
  • 250g oats

Method:

  1. Melt butter and stir in honey
  2. Add rest of the ingredients and mix
  3. Spoon onto baking tray, flattening slightly
  4. Bake @ 180 degrees for 8-10minutes.
One thought on “The Challenge Begins….what fun!!

  1. i’m going to try this recipe and add some dried blueberries! The sounds like a great tassievore sweet treat to keep in the cupboard!

Leave a Reply

